Some days you’re up… #1

I wrote about Monday straight after but it was too soon. I didn’t get to nail, in words, the feeling that the evening gave me. It was a real shock to find I wasn’t going to be plugged in. At the point of singing it was great because you know that what comes out your mouth is what is hitting the people opposite you, even if I did over-compensate during the first chorus of Secret Heart and wail a bit. When you’re miked up there’s always a period of time, usually half a song where you’re accustomising to your voice coming out the monitors or to the sound people honing things and it means you can’t quite get into the performing straight away, or that’s my experience anyway. Here, it was like singing in your bedroom, albeit a big, beautifully decorated bedroom with a bar and lots of attractive people in it. Come to think of it, that sounds like the kind of bedroom I could get on with. The whole evening had a ‘singing round the campfire’ feel to it, no egos, no competing, just everyone having a go and I loved it. I also love the look of the place, the posters, the art by people I know (and whose work I really like), the really cool photo of Reg, the poet and the light teasing I’ve received ever since for running after her. I imagine it vaguely feeling like places in the sixties might have done, a small, bohemian club with creative people letting it out for a short while, just in order to do it. Great stuff.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gigs, Music

Leave a comment